Wednesday, August 4, 2021


Australia opt to bat against Bangladesh in 2nd T20I

Online Desk

Update: Wednesday, August 4, 2021


Australia opt to bat against Bangladesh in 2nd T20I

Australia have won the toss and elected to bat first against Bangladesh in the second T20I at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur today.

Both the sides are unchanged from their first T20I.

Bangladesh team are in high spirits after registering a 23-run win in the first T20I — Tigers’ first-ever T20I victory against Australia — at the same venue yesterday. The win also meant the Tigers now lead the five-match series 1-0.

Premier all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan is eyeing two unique records in this series. The 34-year-old all-rounder is just four wickets away from becoming only the second player and first Bangladeshi to scalp 100 wickets in T20Is.

The only player to have reached the 100-wicket milestone in T20Is is Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga, who took 107 wickets in 84 matches.

Reaching the 100-wicket milestone in T20Is will also see Shakib become the first player in the format to have a double of 100 wickets and 1000 runs. Shakib, playing in his 81st T20I, has scored 1640 runs at an average of 23.76.

Can Shakib reach these milestones in today’s game against the Aussies? Although the second T20I is being played on a different pitch, going by how the Mirpur pitch behaves usually — providing ample help to spinners — it won’t be unlikely to see Shakib add one more feather in his cap.

Playing XI:

Bangladesh: Mahmudullah Riyad, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naim, Shakib Al Hasan, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Afif Hossain, Shamim Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed

Australia: Alex Carey, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Marsh, Moises Henriques, Matthew Wade, Ashton Turner, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Follow us on Facebook